CITY OF ROCHESTER HILLS OFFICE OF THE MAYOR PROCLAMATION

Police Week Michigan - May 11-17, 2025

whereas, in 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week in which May 15 falls as National Police Week, which pays special recognition to those law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty for the safety and protection of others; and

WHEREAS, there are more than 700,000 law enforcement officers serving in communities across the United States, including the approximately 17,000 full-time uniformed police officers in Michigan; and

WHEREAS, members of law enforcement have earned our respect for their daily dignity, bravery, and reliability, and we also honor the sacrifices made by their families; and

WHEREAS, in 2024 alone, 145 law enforcement officers were killed, including one from our own Oakland County Sheriff's Office, and many more were assaulted in the line of duty across the country; and

WHEREAS, Michigan's fallen officers will never be forgotten, nor will their service to their respective communities. By choosing to commit themselves to law enforcement, these brave individuals answered the call for service and willingly put their lives in jeopardy. We commend them for recognizing service as a noble career, and protecting the public safety; and

WHEREAS, Rochester Hills residents turn to members of law enforcement for assistance and support in times of distress, whether they are coping with a personal crisis, struggling through civil disorder, or suffering a natural disaster; and

WHEREAS, our communities rely on these courageous individuals and we are immensely grateful for the contributions of law enforcement officers to our community.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that May 11-17, 2025 will be designated as Police Week in the City of Rochester Hills. We publicly salute the service of law enforcement officers in our community as well as those of state and nation and honor police who place their lives on the line for safety and security of their communities.

Bryan K. Barnett, Mayor	
Ryan J. Deel, Council President	David J. Blair, Council Member
Jason Carlock, Vice President	Carol Morlan, Council Member
	Theresa Mungioli, Council Member
	Marvie Neubauer, Council Member
	David Walker, Council Member