

Rochester Hills Minutes - Draft

1000 Rochester Hills Dr Rochester Hills, MI 48309 (248) 656-4600 Home Page: www.rochesterhills.org

Rochester Hills Government Youth Council

Ryan Barrett, Caroline Bull, Abhro Debnath, Amanpreet Dosanjh, Henry Hall, Numair Haq, Tanish Kalwad, Bella Morris, Jackson Otlewski, Shreya Pillai, Erica Traskos, Maya Vijayakumar, Aaron Yoon, Yitian Zhang and Aimee Zhao Rvan Deel. City Council Liaison: Sheila Brown. Youth Council Liaison

Wednesday, September 8, 2021

6:00 PM

1400 E Hamlin Rd

CALL TO ORDER

Adult Advisor Sheila Brown called the Rochester Hills Government Youth Council Meeting to order at 6:11 p.m. Michigan Time.

ROLL CALL

Present 12 - Numair Haq, Shreya Pillai, Yitian Zhang, Ryan Barrett, Caroline Bull, Bella

Morris, Maya Vijayakumar, Amanpreet Dosanjh, Tanish Kalwad, Jackson

Otlewski, Erica Traskos and Aaron Yoon

Absent 3 - Henry Hall, Abhro Debnath and Aimee Zhao

Others Present:

Ryan Deel, City Council President Sheila Brown, Adult Advisor

Youth Council Members Debnath, Hall, and Zhao provided previous notice they would be unable to attend and asked to be excused.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

None.

COMMUNICATIONS

Adult Advisor Brown distributed 2021-2022 RHGYC Member Contact Information and Parliamentary Procedures to Youth Council Members for review.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None.

NEW BUSINESS

2021-0377 Election of 2021-2022 RHGYC Chairperson

Attachments: Procedure for Election.pdf

Chairperson Duties.pdf

Chairperson Nomination Sheet.pdf

A motion was made by Haq, seconded by Morris, that Amanpreet Dosanjh be appointed as Chairperson. The motion carried the following vote:

Aye 12 - Haq, Pillai, Zhang, Barrett, Bull, Morris, Vijayakumar, Dosanjh, Kalwad,

Otlewski, Traskos and Yoon

Absent 3 - Hall, Debnath and Zhao

Resolved, that the Rochester Hills Government Youth Council hereby confirms the election of Amanpreet Dosanjh to serve as Chairperson for a term to expire in February 2022.

2021-0373 Election of 2021-2022 RHGYC Vice Chairperson

Attachments: Procedure for Election.pdf

Vice Chairperson Duties.pdf

Vice Chairperson Nomination Sheet.pdf

A motion was made by Dosanjh, seconded by Morris, that Nuamair Haq be appointed as Vice Chairperson. The motion carried the following vote:

Aye 12 - Haq, Pillai, Zhang, Barrett, Bull, Morris, Vijayakumar, Dosanjh, Kalwad, Otlewski, Traskos and Yoon

Absent 3 - Hall, Debnath and Zhao

Resolved, that the Rochester Hills Government Youth Council hereby confirms the election of Numair Haq to serve as Vice Chairperson for a term to expire in February 2022.

2021-0374 Election of 2021-2022 RHGYC Secretary

Attachments: Procedure for Election.pdf

Secretary Duties.pdf

Secretary Nomination Sheet.pdf

A motion was made by Dosanjh, seconded by Haq, that Bella Morris be appointed as Secretary. The motion carried the following vote:

Aye 12 - Haq, Pillai, Zhang, Barrett, Bull, Morris, Vijayakumar, Dosanjh, Kalwad, Otlewski, Traskos and Yoon

Absent 3 - Hall, Debnath and Zhao

Resolved, that the Rochester Hills Government Youth Council hereby confirms the election of Bella Morris to serve as Secretary for a term to expire in February 2022.

2021-0375 Appointment of RHGYC Members to City Council Technical Review Committees

<u>Attachments:</u> Participation on City Council Technical Review Committees.pdf

Tech Rev Committee Info.pdf

Resolved, that the Rochester Hills Government Youth Council, hereby confirms the following appointments of all members to the various City Council Technical Review Committees for the 2021-2022 term:

Cemetery Citizen Advisory Technical Review Committee

- 1. Erica Traskos
- 2. Abhro Debnath

Citizens Pathway Review Committee

1. Numair Haq

Deer Management

1. Henry Hall

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

1. Caroline Bull

Green Space Advisory Board (GSAB)

- 1. Aaron Yoon
- 2. Maya Vijayakumar

Human Resources Technical Review Committee

- 1. Amanpreet Dosanjh
- 2. Bella Morris

Liquor License Review Committee

- 1. Aimee Zhao
- 2. Tanish Kalwad

Public Safety & Infrastructure

- 1. Shreya Pillai
- 2. Yitian Zhang

Water and Sewer Technical Review Committee

- 1. Jackson Otlewski
- 2. Ryan Barrett

2021-0376 Assignment of 2021-2022 RHGYC to City Council Regular Meetings for

September, October, November and December 2021.

Attachments: City Council Regular Meeting Participation.pdf

City Council Meeting Calendar.pdf

Rochester Hills Government Youth Council	Minutes - Draft	September 8, 2021
September 13, 2021	Erika Traskos	
September 27, 2021	Caroline Bull	
October 11, 2021	Bella Morris	
October 25, 2021	Amanpreet Dosanjh	
November 15, 2021	Shreya Pillai	
December 6, 2021	Ryan Barrett	

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

NEXT MEETING DATE

- Wednesday, October 6, 2021

December 13, 2021 Numair Haq

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Rochester Hills Government Youth Council, Youth Council Member Bull adjourned the meeting at 6:41 p.m.