Bryan K. Barnett, Mayor

City Council Members: J. Martin Brennan Greg Hooper Nathan Klomp Vern A. Pixley James Rosen Michael Webber Ravi Yalamanchi

DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT

December 7, 2010

Ed Anzek, AICP Director

Honorable Governor Jennifer M. Granholm Office of the Governor

P.O. Box 30013

Derek Delacourt Lansing, MI 48909 Deputy Director

Daniel B. Casev Manager, Economic Development

Re: Michigan Medical Marihuana Act of 2008

Telephone 248.656.4660 FAX 248.841.2576 Email planning@rochesterhills.org Dear Governor Granholm,

Development Services Sandi DiSipio 248.841.2571

In an effort to develop zoning standards to regulate land uses involved in the distribution, sale, cultivation and growth of medical marihuana under the Medical Marihuana Act of 2008, we, the undersigned members of the Rochester Hills Planning Commission, have extensively studied and analyzed the Act and its implications. After having comprehensively researched the experiences and actions of other communities, court decisions, and expert analyses, it is apparent that the Act lacks guidelines to implement a safe program for the citizens it is meant to protect. We also believe that the Act exposes local governments to certain risks that need to be addressed by the State Legislature.

Planning Commission Zoning Board of Appeals Historic Districts Commission 248.656.4660

> We respectfully request that you, as our elected representatives, take the matter of clarifying the language under consideration, in order to provide local communities guidelines for implementing a viable program for the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of the State of Michigan.

Local Development Finance Authority Maureen Gentry 248.841.2575

Respectfully Submitted,

Brownfield Redevelopment Authority 248.656.4660

ROCHESTER HILLS PLANNING COMMISSION:

Economic Development Landscape Review Residential Development Site Plan Review Tree Conservation Variances Wetland Review Zoning

Deborah Brnabic, Vice Chairperson Gerard Detloff, Commissioner Dale Hetrick, Commissioner

William F. Boswell, Chairperson

Greg Hooper, City Council President

Nicholas Kaltsounis, Commissioner

David Reece, Commissioner

City Hall General Information 248.656.4600

C. Neall Schroeder, Commissioner

Mayor

Emmet Yukon, Commissioner

Bryan K. Barnett 248.656.4664